Play that Guitar Music!

I have been visualizing this shot for quite some time. I love the rich wood grain on my classical guitar and wanted to highlight it in a warm and dynamic way.

I finally figured out how to pull it off. I set up an umbrella above my right shoulder and fired a flash with an amber gel into it. In front and to the left of me, I used my gold reflector to bounce some warm light back into the shadows. The tough part was setting up to get the angles right as both photographer and guitarist!

I sucked everything into Photoshop and cut out/semi-transparent erased the areas outside the guitar and placed it on a dark background. Viveza then offered me the perfect control of the dynamic range of the different areas of the image.

Leave a Reply

