Palermo Lightning Strike

This was shot at the end of October last year when we were on our Mediterranean cruise. As we left Palermo, a storm rolled in and I captured some nice footage and photos (some of which are in my photostream).

This was actually a framegrab from my HD video. It is a great example of using technology to produce acceptable photographic results from a good video frame. I sucked the frame capture (1920×1080) into Photoshop, then resized, rotated and cropped it. I then used Viveza to balance out the details in the scene. Finally, to add a bit of “character” to the final image, I used Color Efex Pro. A light Detail Extractor filter was used to bring out the rain plumes and to bring detail into the foreground boats, then I added grain and some vignetting to make the image feel less “technological” and more photographic.

One thought on “Palermo Lightning Strike

Leave a Reply

